Email Address:

Competition News

David Doubilet Joins The Judging Panel
Posted: Friday, December 12, 2008

We are honored to announce that world renowned photographer David Doubilet has joined the judging panel for the 2009 Wetpixel & DivePhotoGuide International Underwater Photo & Video Competition in association with Our World Underwater. Doubilet is currently a Contributing Photographer-in-Residence at National Geographic Magazine. He has documented our changing underwater world since his first assignment with the Geographic in 1971. In addition to the Geographic, David’s work continues to appear in countless publications worldwide and he is a contributing editor and feature columnists for the Behind the Shot in Sport Diver Magazine (US) and Seascapes and Dive Magazine (UK). He has authored seven books on the sea, and is the recipient of many prestigious awards, including: The Sara Prize, The Explorers Club Lowell Thomas Award and the Lennart Nilsson Award in Photography. David is a member of both the Royal Photographic Society and International Diving Hall of fame.

The addition of Doubilet to the judging panel will come as no surprise to those familiar with the competition series, hailed as "the Super Bowl of international underwater imagery events", and boasting significant media coverage and industry support, with one of the largest prize pools of any competitions in the world. All of the judges for the competition are established professional photographers, cinematographers and magazine editors. Some of the most talented photographers in the world participate, and each year the competition improves to better serve the community at large.

New Category for 2009

Competitors from across the globe will be competing in categories for every level from novice to professionals. 2009 will mark the first year that the competition includes a "Novice" category , in order to allow for participation from the growing global community of divers who are getting into underwater photography.

The deadline for entries is Jan 15th, 2009.

Good luck to all the competitiors!